Poetry, Life, Art on Broadstairs Pier

From 28th June to 5th July I'll be exhibiting artwork, poetry and fabric craft at The Old Lookout Gallery on Broadstairs from 10-4 each day. Courtesy of Christ Church University College who offers the space to artists, I welcome this opportunity to put together a showcase of the body of work I've been involved with over the years.

Before turning to writing as my main means of expression from 1990 onwards,  I was a visual artist, moving on from being a student in local adult education classes and exhibiting some of my drawings locally and at The Mall Gallery in London. Looking at them now, I wonder why I didn't become an illustrator, because that is what they leaned towards. But I had no confidence in myself then, and had other cultural issues to explore, through the love of words. Being concerned with learning how I as a Caribbean migrant, fitted into the UK landscape, led me to university as a mature student, and so began my life as a poet of which performance has always been a part.